top of page

Zones by Mitchell Krockmalnik Grabois

I live in two zones

In one I see the damage that mental illness wreaks


In the other I see through

to the person beneath


I see Tiffany breathless from playing volleyball

I see her napping peacefully in the sand


I see her entirely free of the harshly colored overlays

of chronic schizophrenia

as if they have been pulled away

like layers of smelly bedclothes


I see her unsnapped

from the grid

of our diagnostic categories


Author Bio:

Mitchell Krockmalnik Grabois has had over fourteen-hundred of his poems and fictions appear in literary magazines in the U.S. and abroad. He has been nominated for numerous prizes, and. was awarded the 2017 Booranga Writers’ Centre (Australia) Prize for Fiction. His novel, Two-Headed Dog, based on his work as a clinical psychologist in a state hospital, is available for Kindle and as a print edition. To read more of his work, Google Mitchell Krockmalnik Grabois. He lives in Denver, Colorado, USA.

(This piece was submitted during Newmag's open submission window).


bottom of page